Thundercat Has Covered Ryuichi Sakamoto | News

Clash Logo

Thundercat has shared his take on Ryuichi Sakamoto’s ‘Thousand Knives’.

The Japanese composer is the subject of a new tribute album, with ‘To The Moon And Back’ set to be released on December 2nd.

The tracklist spans the full expanse of Sakamoto’s work, and features some Clash favourites – look out for recordings by Devonté Hynes, the Cinematic Orchestra, Alva Noto, David Sylvian, and more. 

Ahead of the album’s release, Thundercat has shared his version of ‘Thousand Knives’. Tapping into the lush synthetics of the original, the LA figure twists it in a jazz-leaning direction, expanding its rhythmic skeleton to the point of elasticity.

A kind of vivid, neon-tinted West Coast funker, ‘Thousand Knives’ transposes its origins – the song appeared on Sakamoto’s solo debut, as well as on a 1981 LP by Yellow Magic Orchestra – into a strikingly different landscape.

Tune in now.

A Tribute to Ryuichi Sakamoto – To the Moon and Back:

1 Walker – Lim Giong – Follow The Steps Remodel
2 Grains (Sweet Paulownia Wood) – David Sylvian Remodel
3 Thousand Knives – Thundercat Remodel
4 Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence – Electric Youth Remodel
5 Thatness and Thereness – Cornelius Remodel
6 World Citizen I Won’t Be Disappointed – Hildur Guðnadóttir Remodel
7 The Sheltering Sky – Alva Noto Remodel
8 Amore – Fennesz Remodel
9 Choral No. 1 – Devonté Hynes Remodel (featuring Emily Schubert)
10 DNA – The Cinematic Orchestra Remodel
11 With Snow and Moonlight – snow, silence, partially sunny – Yoshihide Otomo Remodel
12 Forbidden Colors – Gabrial Wek Remodel
13 The Revenant Main Theme – Remodel

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.