Stormzy Announces New Album ‘This Is What I Mean’ | News

Stormzy Announces New Album 'This Is What I Mean' | News

Stormzy has laid out plans for new album ‘This Is What I Mean’.

The Croydon hero recently broke his silence, returning to social media after a three-year hiatus to share new single ‘Mel Made Me Do It’. A fiery return that tapped into his roots, the blockbuster video brought a series of Black British heroes together for a true Avengers Assemble moment.

A full album is on the way, with ‘This Is What I Mean’ set to land on November 25th. The LP follows his seminal debut ‘Gang Signs & Prayer’, and the hugely successful follow-up ‘Heavy Is The Head’.

The music on ‘This Is What I Mean’ owes a debt to the Stormzy music camp in Osea Island – an island in the Essex estuary hat’s only accessible via a Roman Causeway for four hours a day at low tide. 

In a note, Stormzy praises the freedom of the camp, and the energy of the people he assembled around him. He says…

When you hear about music camps they always sound intense and sombre. “People saying: “We need to make an album.” “We need to make some hit records.” But this felt beautifully free. We’re all musicians but we weren’t always doing music.

Some days we played football or walked around taking pictures. And the bi-product to that was very beautiful music. Because when you marry that ethos with world class musicians and the best producers, writers and artists in the world, and we’re in one space, that’s a recipe for something that no one can really imagine. You can’t even calculate what that’s going to come up with. And it came up with a big chunk of this album.

Order ‘This Is What I Mean’ online.

1. Fire + Water
2. This Is What I Mean
3. FireBabe
4. Please
5. Need You
6. Hide & Seek
7. My Presidents Are Black
8. Sampha’s Plea
9. Holy Spirit
10. Bad Blood
11. I Got My Smile Back
12. Give It To The Water

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.