Steve Mason’s New Album Is A “F*ck You To Brexit” | News

Steve Mason's New Album Is A "F*ck You To Brexit" | News

Steve Mason will release new album ‘Brothers & Sisters’ on March 3rd.

The record aims to provide a point of unity during divided times, with Steve Mason reaching out to a broad cast of collaborators. Rooted in his unique songwriting, the record is augmented by the likes of feted Pakistani singer Javed Bashir, British gospel singers Jayando Cole, Keshia Smith, Connie McCall & Adrian Blake and Kaviraj Singh on the santoor.

Out on March 3rd through Double Six, ‘Brothers & Sisters’ is dubbed “a massive fuck you to Brexit” by Steve Mason himself. He continues: “And a giant ‘Fuck you’ to anyone that is terrified of immigration because there is nothing that immigration has brought to this country that isn’t to be applauded. Can you imagine what this place would be like without that [immigration]? I mean what would it be like? Cornish pasties and morris dancing?”

New single ‘No More’ features Javed Bashir, while the James Hankins directed visual moves between the South of England and Lahore. Picking up on the British imperial legacy, it embraces an internationalism based on equality, and sharing.

Steve Mason expands…

This track is about Imperialism and in a subtle way, relative to some of my other work, references Australia, Partition and Africa through a combination of lyrics and music. I like to imagine the spirits of these cultures and people haunting the families who profited and were involved in their destruction down through the generations. Never giving them real peace.

I can never square in my mind the idea of going to a new country with such horror in mind and struggle to believe that those who carry out such deeds are in fact Human. Sitting in incredible splendour with everything around you, dripping in the blood of incredible and ancient civilisations. This subject has been gone over in depth by many highly intelligent people over the years and is of course nothing new but given the message behind this ‘FUCK BREXIT PRO IMMIGRATION’ album I felt a little history and context was needed.

Tune in now.

1.   Mars Man
2.   I’m On My Way
3.   No More
4.   All Over Again
5.   The People Say
6.   Let It Go
7.   Pieces Of Me
8.   Travelling Hard
9.   Brixton Fish Fry
10. Upon My Soul
11. Brothers & Sisters

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.