Morrissey Joined By Iggy Pop, Flea On New Album ‘Bonfire Of The Teenagers’ | News

Clash Logo

Morrissey will release his new album ‘Bonfire Of The Teenagers’ in February 2023.

The singer recently completed a UK tour, which included a night at London’s O2 Academy Brixton. Morrissey included new material in his set list, hinting at what could lie ahead on his 14th solo studio album.

The Manchester artist opened 2022 on dissolute form, sharing a statement via Morrissey Solo which indicated he was without a record label. “The worst year of my life concludes with the best album of my life,” he wrote. “Morrissey is unsigned. The album is available to the highest (or lowest) bidder.”

Capitol Records have stepped in to sign the album, and will handle release for North America, and global territories. The deal doesn’t include the UK – Morrissey still doesn’t have a British label.

‘Bonfire Of The Teenagers’ was produced by Andrew Watt in Los Angeles, and features a range of guests. In a new statement, Morrissey confirms he is joined by Miley Cyrus and Iggy Pop, with musicians including Jesse Tobias, Andrew Watt, Josh Klinghoffer (ex-Red Hot Chili Peppers), and Chad Smith and Flea (both of Red Hot Chili Peppers).

Alongside this, Morrissey has confirmed that Capitol Records have claimed the rights to his catalogue and will re-issue a number of solo records on vinyl in the next 12 months. The statement mentions his albums ‘Southpaw Grammar’, ‘You Are The Quarry’, ‘Ringleader of the Tormentors’, ‘Years of Refusal’ and ‘World Peace is None of Your Business’.

Find the tracklisting below:

1. ‘I Am Veronica’
2. ‘Rebels Without Applause’
3. ‘Kerouac’s Crack’
4. ‘Ha Ha Harlem’
5. ‘I Live in Oblivion’
6. ‘Bonfire of Teenagers’
7. ‘My Funeral’
8. ‘Diana Dors’
9. ‘I Ex-love You’
10. ‘Sure Enough The Telephone Rings’
11. ‘Saint In a Stained Glass Window’

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.