Fucked Up Launch New Album ‘One Day’ | News

Clash Logo

Fucked Up will release new album ‘One Day’ on January 27th.

The title should be taken literally – sparked by guitarist Mike Haliechuk in the closing months of 2019, the project began almost as a dare, to see what could be achieved within 24 hours.

As the pandemic took hold, the remote nature of the recording came into its own. The guitarist blazed through 10 songs in three eight-hour sessions, throwing his ideas down on tape. “After you’ve been in a band for this long, you lose track of what your sound actually is,” he explains. “Twenty-four hours can feel like a long time, but you can get a lot done then, too. It can feel like forever and one minute at the same time. If you work on something for one day, it can end up being really special.” 

Out in January, the new album taps back into the band’s post-hardcore roots, while still allowing space for Fucked Up to shift and evolve. Drummer John Falco comments: “This record is about how we see time passing in our lives,” 

“It represents the realisation of what Fucked Up’s songwriting process has always been, which is the genesis of an idea from one person spread to other members. All of the development happened spontaneously with this album, which meant no time to second-guess. You had to be confident.”

The title song is online now, a blast of coruscating noise as only Fucked Up can provide – tap in below.

1. Found
2. I Think I Might Be Weird
3. Huge New Her
4. Lords of Kensington
5. Broken Little Boys
6. Nothing’s Immortal
7. Falling Right Under
8. One Day
9. Cicada
10. Roar

Photo Credit: Jeaninne Kaufer

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.